Picture
I was watching (or, trying to watch) "A Little Princess" (the 1990s version) on Youtube today. I could only watch the first ten or so minutes of it though because the whole thing's not on there, so I'll have to check it out at our library. Anyway, in those first ten or so minutes, there was a really sweet conversation about dolls. Sarah's father gives her a doll named Emily, and the conversation continues thus:


*******
Captain Crewe: You know, dolls make the very best friends. Just because they can’t speak doesn’t mean they don’t listen. And did you know that when we leave them alone in our room, they come to life?

Sarah: They do?

Captain Crewe: Yes! But before we walk in and catch them, they return to their places as quick as lightning!

Sarah: Why don’t they come to life in front of us so we can see them?

Captain Crewe: Because it’s magic. Magic has to be believed. It’s the only way it's real.
*******

I thought that was just lovely!! A couple minutes later, Sarah is leaving her room and remembers her father's words about dolls coming alive, and she races back to her room and looks through the keyhole to see her doll still sitting where she left her. It reminded me of when I was little and would plot to climb up and look through my bedroom window to see if I could catch my toys and dolls before they could get back to their normal places.

2/8/2011 09:01:39 am

I love this movie so much!! This scene was always one of my favorites. I find myself still trying to sneak up on my dolls sometimes, just to see what they're up to while I'm gone. :)

I don't know if you have Netflix, but this movie is currently on the Instant Play option.

One thing I will say about this version of "A Little Princess" is that it makes me bawl my eyes out. Especially now that I'm a mom! It's very well done, though (even though it's quite different from the book).

Reply
2/8/2011 09:58:45 am

Really??? I'll have to sign up for the one month free trial and watch it. :-D :-D :-D It looks so sweet. I enjoyed the ten or so minutes that I was able to watch on YouTube.

Reply



Leave a Reply.